Make your own free website on

Chapmanville High Key Club
Receives Honors
at State

At the April 2002 Key Club convention, the CHS Key club chapter and their sponsor, Don Saunders, once again
garnered many awards.

The CHS club received the award for being a
Distinguished Club award, as the #1 club in WV for membership.
Rochelle Ricks was one of the fewer than half dozen presidents in WV selected to receive the Distinguished President Award. Kristen Justice was selected as a Distinguished Vice President. Alicia Workman as Distinguished Secretary. Phillip Bryant was selected as a Distinguished Treasurer and Matthew Mullins as a Distinguished Bulletin Editor. Mr. Saunders says this is the first year that all of the key club officers have been recognized on the state level. Mr. Saunders himself was one of three advisors chosen as
Advisor of the Year.

Jennifer Sparks was awards the Sandy Ninninger Award for being the Most Outstanding Key Club Member in West Virginia. This is a singular award given to only one student per year. Congratulations Jennifer!

The group was also noted for their many community service projects and received appreciation plaques from programs that connected to the children in Afghanistan, St Jude's Children's Research Hospital and the Every Child A Swimmer program. CHS Key Club received the Governor's Project Shine award for the number of service projects completed during the year.

The Advisor award for 2002 was awarded to Jill Gore, CHS Key club member and 2002 Lt. Governor Division 9 WVa District Key Club.

The Kiwanas Club of Chapmanville awarded it's citizenship awards to Phillip Bryant and Rochelle Ricks for their many hours of dedicated work.

2002-2003 Key Club officers are:
President: Jennifer Sparks
Vice President: Cindy Aldridge
Secretary: Amy Baisden
Treasurer: Alisha Bryant
Bulletin Editor: Kayla Saunders

We're proud of you Key Club members!

Page 1 | Page 2 | Page 3 | Page 4 | Page 5 | Page 6

Back to the CHS Homepage